About the Laurel Art Guild

The Laurel Art Guild is a non-profit organization of people interested in the advancement of the visual arts.  The membership consists of professional and amateur artists expressing themselves through a wide variety of media.  The Guild strives to promote public appreciation for the support of its endeavors through community involvement.  The Guild is supported by annual dues, commissions on sales from Laurel Art Guild shows, and outside contributions.  For the past thirty years, the Guild has made scholarship fund donations to local High Schools for graduating seniors that are continuing their studies in Fine Arts.Founded in 1967, the Laurel Art Guild has been located on the grounds of the historic Montpelier Mansion in Laurel Maryland.   These premises are under the jurisdiction of the Maryland National Capital Parks and Planning Commission.  The Commission’s Art Division has been instrumental in the Guild’s success through combined efforts with the Guild for promotions of classes and workshops as well as juried art shows and other exhibit opportunities.  Montpelier Arts Center is located at the first driveway on the right after entering Muirkirk Road, from Route 197. Some LAG activities are held at the Art Center.

  • Monthly instructional and informational programs
  • Monthly newsletters including back issues!Local group exhibitions with opportunity to sell
  • Annual Juried Show
  • Annual Small Works Show
  • Plein air painting events for those who enjoy outdoor painting
  • Workshops with various artists
  • Social functions

Past Presidents

1967 Louise Kyanko
1968 Mary Jo Fero
1969 Ted Metzger
1970 Elda Hiser
1971 Helen Hass
1972 Bette Valenti
1973 Betty Plasberg
1974 Mavreen Veihmeyer
1975/76 Anne Hanna
1976/77 Clara Walsh
1977/78 Carol Bierwagen
1978/80 Linda Kirby
1980/81 Marlene Sweger
1981/82 Diane Zarfoss
1982/83 Susan Murphy
1983/84 Karen Tylec
1984/85 Lynn Ratliff
1985/86 Stella McDonald
1986/87 Rose Lomangino
1987/88 Mavreen Veihmeyer
1988/89 Lynn Ferris
1989/91 Joel Bitman
1991/92 Michaele Ann Harper
1992/94 Beth Collard
1994/95 Natalie Harvey
1995/96 Marleen Cunningham
1996/97 Sharon Hart Sefton
1997/98 Gail Zinar
1998/99 John MacArthur
1999/2000 Steve Buzash
2000/01 Gail Zinar
2001/02 Connie Sauer
2002/03 Natalie Fleming
2003/04 Jane Trout
2004/05 Marjory Sampson & Jane Trout
2005/07 Mary Ellen Simon
2007/08 Mary Flanigen
2008/09 Robyn Hatton
2009/10 Kathy Macoughtry & Ann Simpkins
2010/16 Carol Leo
2016/17 Jon Shields
2018/22 Mary Ellen Simon